The Napier

The Napier

210 Napier Street

Fitzroy

Okay, so lets start this blog with the “official” invitation to our next culinary destination:

And so with bellies full and heads light they bid farewell to the generosity that was George’s table, to continue their culinary adventure.

They find themselves meandering, rather clumsily, through mysterious backstreets, lit only by the soft glow of scattered street lamps.  Passing some questionable sorts and staring in wonder at the sudden, rather colonial, surroundings, they find themselves standing on a bleak corner.  Looming in front of them is an old tiled building.  Wishing to find refuge from the night they meekly pile thru the tiny front entrance.

No sooner that they enter they are assaulted with bright colours and warmth (and this is just from the bar man’s shirt!!).  Their eyes adjust and they see before them cozy miss-fit chairs and tables and cluttered bits and bobs that would take you a lifetime to appreciate.

So folks let us explore the “Bohemia” that is Fitzroy, and join me at The Napier on Friday the 12th February 2010 for some more good times!

Must say that my expectations were pretty high and I was really looking forward to the Bohemian ambience (pronounced UM-BE-UNS). I expected this quaint little restaurant/cafe with quiet corners, warm atmosphere, candle lit and cozy. Instead we arrived at a corner pub with pockets of smokers standing outside, drinking pints (they come in pints?) and I quickly rechecked the address. Not quite what I was expecting. But, I thought, inside could be different. And I pictured small tables with quaint Bohemian tablecloths….ahhh….nope…pub outside, pub inside.

Yes it was a cool, fun, characteristic pub with lots of weird and wonderful mementos, photographs and posters everywhere. I especially liked the eye test chart – a great way to see if you are intoxicated. Perhaps this was used before Breathalyzers were invented. A great place to come after work to chill out and chat and definitely a pub above the average pub. Great wine list too, at friendly prices, which was a bonus.

The menu was surprisingly diverse, and so I put aside my reservations and eagerly browsed through the selection. We started with calamari rings, a trio of dips and, because this post is well overdue, I forget if there was another entrée. Hopefully the other Eat Critiquers will step in and add to anything I missed mentioning. The calamari was indeed a treat and perfectly cooked and so very, very fresh. Kudos here as they must have been one of the best I have ever eaten. I was getting excited. Also, the humus tasted home-made and although I am not usually a big fan of this dip, I must admit I did enjoy the one offered at The Napier.  A great beginning and my eagerness for the main I had ordered had me shifting in my seat with anticipation.

And it arrived. My lamb backstrap roast, which I ordered medium rare, appeared in front of me. Good size portions but no finesse in presentation. So to block out the ever-growing pub crowd and sloppy presentation I close my eyes. My first mouthful and my expectations of taste and flavour was sadly disappointed. It was okay, even though the meat was not cooked to my liking, but certainly not inspirational – and thus I returned to the reality of where we were. Oh well, pub grub, dig in don’t wait. Plenty of food and at a good price. If anything I would say stick to the entrees as they exceeded expectations. But the mains were, well, simply put…lack lustre. If you’re hung-over, wearing yesterday’s clothes and absolutely ravenous, this is the place to go and blend into the friendly, casual vibe and get pub grub at it’s best.

Overall though, I was not sure if The Napier really qualified as the kind of foodie journey this group was attempting to take. And so my criticism has to be taken in context of the purpose of this group, and that is to taste food that takes you soaring toward that light that all foodies search for: food nirvana. It’s a big ask for a pub to step up to, even an upbeat and eclectic pub like The Napier. And I am also in angst at the overall Eat Critique score as I feel it does not really give our critique value – I mean how can ordinary pub grub rate only one point less than the exemplary, mouth watery cuisine we had at The Press Club last month?  Perhaps we should consider a separate pub food tour? Or something like a cheap eats group? Whatever it is, I feel we need to make a distinction.

Oh, I can’t wait to get the feedback from the others over this comment…LOL…the kind of hornets nest I am stirring.

Eat Critique Rating: 6.5

INDIVIDUAL SCORES: (6 members)

E = experience. F= food quality, taste & presentation. V = value for money.

Beck:        E – 7.5; F – 6; V – 7         Total individual score: 6.8

Susan:      E – 7.5; F – 8.5; V – 7      Total individual score: 7.6

Tashik:     E – 9; F -6; V – 7         Total individual score: 7.3

Chloe:       E – 7; F – 6; V – 6         Total individual score: 6.3

Jeremy:    E – 7; F – 6; V – 6         Total individual score: 6.3

Svett:        E – 5; F -4; V – 6          Total individual score: 5

~ by Svettmoondog on March 19, 2010.

One Response to “The Napier”

  1. Think i’d prefer trying the restaurant below even at the exhorbitant price!
    Cheers

Leave a comment